Indian Muslim Leading Newspaper, New from India, Islam, World
32 pages, Twice a month. Subscribe Now.  (RNI DELENG/2000/930; ISSN 0972-3366)

Since Jan 2000

Cartoons .  Special Reports . National  . Issues . Community News Letters to the Editor  . Matrimonials . Latest Indian Muslim Statements . Book Store ++

The Milli Gazette

Online Book Store  

Subscribe Online

Jobs @ MG
Our Advertisers
Our Team
Contact Us

»  Lastest Indian Muslim 
Statements & 
Press Release
» Tell me when the next issue comes online:






If you haven't seen the print edition,

missed it ALL

send me the print edition


» The Milli Gazette's Message Board:


Published in the 1-15 Apr 2004 print edition of MG; send me the print edition


Other related pages: Newsmakers | Awards | Obituaries 

ISHRAT ALI SIDDIQUI receivnig awardDelhi Urdu Academy for the first time presented the prestigious Bahadur Shah Zafar Award to an Urdu journalist ISHRAT ALI SIDDIQUI, former chief editor of Urdu daily Qaumi Awaz. The award consisting of a cash prize of Rs 1,11,111 and a certificate of honour was presented to Siddiqui by Justice AM Ahmadi, former Chief Justice of India at an impressive function at Aiwan-e-Ghalib on 18 March. The award for Urdu journalism went to veteran journalist and author SAEED SUHRAWARDY for introducing economic issues in simple and non-technical language to Urdu readers. Other awardees include PROF. ATIQULLAH (research and criticism), AZIM AKHTAR (creative literature), HAQQANI AL-QASMI (creative literature) MASUD AZHAR NADWI (translation) Ms. WASIM RASHID (best lady teacher), DR SYEDA SAIYIDAIN (national integrity), ABDUR RAHMAN (scientific literature), TANVIR AHMAD (child literature) and MAULANA MUHAMMAD YUSUF QASMI (calligraphy). The award for poetry and linguistic integrity went to Chander Bhan Khayal and Arun Kumar respectively. 

KHALID QURESHI of All India Radio News Division service won the annual award of Akashwani for the year 2002 for his courageous reporting of Kashmir mutiny and Kargil war. The award instituted by AIR in 1974 is given to best correspondent. The award for best commercial broadcasting service was given to DR. A. R. TALIB.

DR. MUHAMMAD SOHRAB, a senior teacher at the architecture section of Aligarh Muslim University’s Polytechnic was conferred UP’s Best Polytechnic Teacher award for the year 2003 by Indian Society for Technical Education. The award was presented to him for his services to the academic community and students. Labour minister Sahib Singh Verma presented the award to Dr Sohrab.

Young poet NAZIM SHAMS TABREZI has been conferred Kamal Madrasi Award. The award was presented to him at a poetic symposium organised by literary organisation Punjab Association, Chennai. Tabrezi has authored about half a dozen books and is editor of a literary magazine published by Haryana Urdu Academy. A noted poet, Kamal Madrasi served Urdu poetry and literature for about 60 years. ¤

Other related pages: Newsmakers | Awards | Obituaries 

Subscribe to the PRINT edition NOW: Get the COMPLETE picture
32 tabloid pages choke-full of news, views & analysis on the Muslim scene in India & abroad...
Delivered at your doorstep, Twice a month


Get Books from India at cheap attractive ratesArabic English High Quality translation

Reading books can support The Milli Gazette !

SubscriptionContact Us | Publishers | OutreachIndia | Suggestions | E-cardsBookmark this page |

Privacy PolicyDisclaimer  © Copyright 2000-Present    Pharos Media & Publishing Pvt Ltd, New Delhi, India