Indian Muslim Leading Newspaper, New from India, Islam, World
32 pages, Twice a month. Subscribe Now.  (RNI DELENG/2000/930; ISSN 0972-3366)

Since Jan 2000

Cartoons .  Special Reports . National  . Issues . Community News Letters to the Editor  . Matrimonials . Latest Indian Muslim Statements . Book Store ++

The Milli Gazette

Online Book Store  

Subscribe Online

Jobs @ MG
Our Advertisers
Our Team
Contact Us

  Lastest Indian Muslim 
Statements & 
Press Release
Tell me when the next issue comes online:






If you haven't seen the print edition,

missed it ALL

send me the print edition


The Milli Gazette's Message Board:


Published in the 1-15 June 2004 print edition of MG; send me the print edition

Muslim faces in the new government

Seven Muslims have made it to India's new central cabinet in the newly formed government of the United Secular Alliance headed by Manmohan Singh of the Congress Party. Four of them belong to the Congress while the rest are from the allies. The previous NDA government had only one "Muslim" minister: the feather-weight showboy Shahnawaz Husain who has been trounced in these elections. Two ministers hold the cabinet rank while other are ministers of state.

Ghulam Nabi Azad PM Sayeed

Ghulam Nabi Azad

PM Sayeed

The cabinet rank ministers are Ghulam Nabi Azad (Congress, member of Rajya Sabha) and PM Sayeed (Congress, who had made it to the Guinness Book of records for having won Lakshdweep seat ten times in a row but lost in the last elections by just 72 votes). It is expected that Sayeed will be made a member of Parliament's Upper House (Rajya Sabha). Azad has been given the important portfolio of Parliamentary affairs while Sayeed has the charge of the ministry of Urban Development and Power.
Muslim ministers of state are: 

  •  E. Ahammed (Muslim League, elected from Ponnani): External Affairs);

  • Dr Shakeel Ahmad (Congress, elected to the Lok Sabha from Madhubani): Communications & Information Technology;

  • K. Rahman Khan (Congress, member of Rajya Sabha): Chemicals & Fertilizers;

  • Muhammad Taslimuddin (RJD, elected from Kishanganj defeating Shahnawaz): Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises;

  • Muhammad Ali Ashraf Fatmi (RJD, elected from Darbhanga): Human Resources Development.

E. Ahammed Dr Shakeel Ahmad K. Rahman Khan Md Taslimuddin Md A A Fatmi

E. Ahammed

Dr Shakeel Ahmad K. Rahman Khan

Md Taslimuddin

Md A A Fatmi

With the exception of Shakil Ahmad, all Congress members are from the Rajya Sabha which is not a healthy sign. Clearly, loyalty to party president Sonia Gandhi has been a greater factor in these selections. Heavyweights and highly experienced persons who held ministerial posts in the past, like AR Antulay (elected from Kolaba) and ABA Ghani Khan Choudhury (elected from Malda), have been neglected. Salman Khurshid, another high flying Congress leader who earlier held the post of minister of state for external affairs, too, has not been accommodate.

Though important portfolios have been given to Muslim MPs, the real test depends to what extent the Muslim community will benefit from the programmes of the new government and if safety and security of the community will be ensured in order to bring it to the mainstream. Congress has to prove its sincerity by implementing promises made to minorities in its election manifesto.

MG News desk

Subscribe to the PRINT edition NOW: Get the COMPLETE picture
32 tabloid pages choke-full of news, views & analysis on the Muslim scene in India & abroad...
Delivered at your doorstep, Twice a month

Latest Indian Muslim Islamic News


Get Books from India at cheap attractive ratesArabic English High Quality translation

Reading books can support The Milli Gazette !

SubscriptionContact Us | Publishers | OutreachIndia | Suggestions | E-cardsBookmark this page |

Privacy PolicyDisclaimer  Copyright 2000-Present    Pharos Media & Publishing Pvt Ltd, New Delhi, India