Indian Muslim Leading Newspaper, New from India, Islam, World
32 pages, Twice a month. Subscribe Now.  (RNI DELENG/2000/930; ISSN 0972-3366)

Since Jan 2000

Cartoons .  Special Reports . National  . Issues . Community News Letters to the Editor  . Matrimonials . Latest Indian Muslim Statements . Book Store ++

Subscribe Online

About Us

Online Book Store  

Jobs @ MG

Advertise on MG
Our Team
Contact Us

Muslim Matrimonials
Our Advertisers

Add to your RSS reader - Indian Muslim Islamic News online media web site

»  Lastest Indian Muslim 
Statements & 
Press Release
Web (WWW) OR  
only MG

» Tell me when the next issue comes online:






If you haven't seen the print edition,

missed it ALL

send me the print edition


Published in the 1-15 Mar 2005 print edition of MG; send me the print edition


The Milli Gazette Online

The following Muslims appear on the list of Padma awards approved by the President of India for this year. 

Padma Bhushan 

(Trade and Industry), Karnataka, PROF IRFAN HABIB, (Literature and Education), Uttar Pradesh, Qurratulain Hyder (Literature and Education), Dr Sardar Anjum (Literature and Education), Syed Mir Qasim (Posthumously), (Public Affairs), Jammu & Kashmir and Dr Yusuf Khwaja Hamied (Trade and Industry), Maharashtra

Padma Shri

(Literature and Education), Jammu & Kashmir, Ustad Ghulam Sadiq Khan (Art), Delhi, Mehrunnisa Parvez (Literature and Education), Madhya Pradesh, Shameem Dev Azad (Art), Jammu & Kashmir, Muzaffar Ali (Art), Uttar Pradesh and Shah Rukh Khan (Art), Maharashtra were approved. 

Military awards

Muslims selected from paramilitary forces for awards under various categories this year on the Republic Day are as follows:
Constable Mohammad Ashraf Mir was given President’s Police Medal for gallantry.Constables Tasweer Husain, Javed Iqbal, Farooq Ahmad Bhatt and Abdul Hameed were awarded Police Medal for gallantry. ADIG MA Khan, New Delhi, Captains Khalilur Rehman, New Delhi, M Abdus Salaque, Behrampur, Sub inspector Shamsuddin and constable Asanulla Sheikh were given away President’s Police Medal for meritorious service. On CRPF list Police Medal for gallantry was given to Constable Mohd Sadiq (Posthumously) and on CISF list Police Medals for meritorious service were given to Taj Hasan, DIG (Pers), New Delhi, AV Shaik, Inspector (Exe); Abdul Mukthadir, Head Constable.

Sahitya Academy 

in its meeting held this month under the presidentship of its chairman, Prof Gopi Chand Narang has selected names of 22 translators for awards who translated original books in different Indian languages into other Indian languages. In Urdu four books have been selected whose translators will be awarded. Prof Asaduddin has been selected for his English translation of Ismat Chughtai's short stories titled Lifting the Veil - Selected Writings of Ismat Ghughtai, Rafiq Masoodi for his translation of Bhishm Sahni's book Tamas into Kashmiri language, Karamat Ali Karamat for the translation of Oriya poet Sita Kant Mahapatra's anthology Shabdar Akash into Urdu tilted Lafzon ka Aakash. Deewan-e Ghalib is another Urdu book whose translator Jagannath Pathak has been selected for the award for his translation into Sanskrit titled Ghalib Kavviyam. Prof Gopi Chand Narang's Urdu book Sakhtiyat Pas Sakhtiyaat aur Mashriqi She'riyaat has been translated into Punjabi by Jagbir Singh. Another Urdu book Baaz Goee by Surendra Prakash has been translated into Dogri by Jitendra Sharma. The awards, comprising of a cash prize of Rs 20,000 and a commendation certificate will be presented to the awardees on 23 August this year. 

Filmfare Awards

Following Muslims were nominated for the 50th Filmfare Awards associated with film industry. Among others Farah Khan and Farhan Akhtar were nominated Best Director, for their films Main Hoon Na and Lakshya respectively. Shahrukh Khan was nominated best actor for his three movies, Main Hoon Na, Swadesh and Veer Zaara. Among others Zayed Khan was nominated Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his film Main Hoon Na. Arashad Warsi and Saif Ali Khan were nominated as Best Actor in a Comic Role for their films Hulchul and Hum Tum respectively. AR Rehman was nominated as Best Music Director for Swadesh and Jawed Akhtar as Best Lyricist for five films 

Council for Leather Exports

Council for Leather Exports (CLE),
Chennai gave awards to export houses of leather goods on 31 December 2005 in Chennai for the year 2003-2004. The awards were distributed under various categories. For overall exports Super House Leathers Ltd, Kanpur and Mirza Tanners Ltd, Kanpur were given Gold Trophy and Silver Trophy respectively among others. Under the Finished Leather category (Above US $ 5 million) Farida Prime Tannery, Chennai was given a plaque and T. Abdul Wahid Tanneries Private Ltd, Chennai (US $ 1 million to 5 million) was also given a plaque among others. Under Footwear Components category Rahman Exports Pvt. Ltd, Kanpur (Above US $5 million) was given a plaque among others and under Leather Garments category Aziz Exports, Chennai (Above US $5 million) was given a plaque among others. Shafeeq Shameel and Co, Chennai was given Certificate of Merit under Environmental Management System category. Designs Awards for 2005 were given to Abdul Wahid Ambur and K Ifzal Ahmad. Both of them are students. The awards were presented by EVKS Elangovan, Union minister of state for commerce and industry

Mir Taqi Mir Award

Ms Sameena
, Hindi news reader at Delhi Doordarshan who has been reading news at DD National and DD News for the past one decade or so was honoured with National Integration Award on 3 February. She is also presenting Sa Re Ga Ma programme every Saturday morning at AIR’s FM Channel. She has also been honoured by many cultural organisations for her services to electronic media. The award was presented to her at an international Mushaira held at Aiwan-e Ghalib, New Delhi. On the same occasion, Dr Shafa’at Faheem Amrohvi was honoured with Mir Taqi Mir Award for his contribution to Urdu poetry.

All India National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language

All India National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language and Literature in cooperation with All India Hindi-Urdu Sangam, Lucknow has honoured 3 persons for their valuable services in promoting Urdu language and literature in Jammu and Kashmir. They are Khwaja Farooq Renzu, author and novelist, Nazeer Ahmad Nazeer, poet, man of letters and presently minister for information, Jammu and Kashmir and Imdad Saqi, journalist, poet and author.

Dr Zakir Husain Memorial Award for 2005

Dr Mohd Hamidullah Bhat
, director of National Council for the Promotion of Urdu Language (NCPUL) has been honoured with Dr Zakir Husain Memorial Award for 2005 for his services to Urdu through introducing information technology and large scale use of computers in Urdu educational institutions, madrasas and keeping Urdu speaking people abreast with modern technology and teaching methods. The award sponsored by Science and Universe Society was presented to him by the Congress leader Salman Khurshid. «

Subscribe to the PRINT edition NOW: Get the COMPLETE picture
32 tabloid pages choke-full of news, views & analysis on the Muslim scene in India & abroad...
Delivered at your doorstep, Twice a month

Latest Indian Muslim News


Get Books from India at cheap attractive ratesArabic English High Quality translation

Help Relief, Welfare, development work in India - Zakat

Read books on Indian Muslim Islamic topics only on MG bookstore !

Subscribe 2 MG print edition | Muslim Educational Loan AidContact Us | Muslim Baby Names | OutreachIndia | Suggestions | Muslim  Islamic greeting cards

Bookmark The Milli Gazette

Privacy PolicyDisclaimer  © Copyright 2000-Present  Publishers: Pharos Media & Publishing Pvt Ltd, New Delhi, India