Indian Muslim Leading Newspaper, New from India, Islam, World
32 pages, Twice a month. Subscribe Now.  (RNI DELENG/2000/930; ISSN 0972-3366)

Since Jan 2000

Cartoons .  Special Reports . National  . Issues . Community News Letters to the Editor  . Matrimonials . Latest Indian Muslim Statements . Book Store ++

The Milli Gazette

Online Book Store  

Subscribe Online

Jobs @ MG
Our Advertisers
Our Team
Contact Us

»  Lastest Indian Muslim 
Statements & 
Press Release
» Tell me when the next issue comes online:






If you haven't seen the print edition,

missed it ALL

send me the print edition


» The Milli Gazette's Message Board:


2002: Indian Muslim Statements
For Latest Indian Muslim Statements click here
Indian Muslim Statements during 2001 click here
Archive of Indian Muslim Statements click here

Joint Statement by Leaders of Muslim Organizations 

Cancel K.G. Shah’s Appointment and Appoint a New Commission of Inquiry 

With a Sitting Supreme Court Judge and Two Sitting High Court Judges

New Delhi, 12 April, 2002
: Several Muslim organizations of national eminence have in a joint statement strongly condemned the appointment of Mr. Justice (Retd.) K.G. Shah as the Commission of Inquiry for the Gujarat disturbances by the State of Gujarat and demanded a 3-man Commission, presided over by a sitting Judge of the Supreme Court. 

The statement reads:

"According to all available evidence, the State Government and its agencies have a direct hand in organising, encouraging and prolonging the perpetration of mass violence in Gujarat which has resulted in a massacre of genocidal dimension and massive destruction of property.

In the wake of orchestrating the massive destruction of the life and property of the Muslim community, the State Government is now engaged in an Operation Cover Up. For this purpose, it has appointed a one-man Commission of Inquiry in the person of Mr. Justice K.G. Shah, a retired Judge of the High Court, who is well-known in the legal circle as the High Court Judge who had pronounced an extremely biased, unfair and malafide judgement in the Laliwada Case which was subsequently reversed by the Hon’ble Supreme Court which had earned him some uncomplimentary remarks. Mr. Shah on retirement and until recently served as the Standing Counsel for the Government of Gujarat in the Supreme Court. When the State Government is itself in the dock and stands indicted by the National Human Rights Commission and the National Commission for Minorities and when its black deeds have been noted in the national and international press and registered by the electronic media, Mr. Narendra Modi Chief Minister has handpicked a judge who shares his ideology and mindset. Such a Commission of Inquiry cannot command the trust and confidence of the suffering people of Gujarat.

We, therefore, reject his appointment with all the emphasis at our command in the interest of Justice and Fairplay. We demand that his appointment be cancelled forthwith and as in 1969, a proper Commission of Inquiry consisting of a sitting Judge of the Supreme Court and two Sitting Judges of the Gujarat High Court, as selected by the respective Chief Justices be appointed.

We are of the unanimous view that in case the Gujarat Government does not heed this justified demand, the Muslim community of Gujarat shall have no option but to boycott the Justice K.G. Shah’s Commission in toto.

1. Syed Nizamuddin, General Secretary, AIMPLB

2. Syed Shahabuddin, President, All India Muslim Majlis-e-Mushawarat

3. Jalaluddin Umri, Acting President, Jamaat-e-Islami Hind

4. Mahmood Madani, General Secretary, Jamiat Ulama-e-Hind

5. Kalbe Sadiq, Chairman, Tauheedul Muslimeen Trust, Lucknow

6. Ebrahim Sulaiman Sait, President, Indian National League

7. G.M. Banatwalla, President, Indian Union Muslim League

8. Abdur Raheem Quraishi, President, A.I. Majlis Tameer-e-Millat

9. Asrarul Haque Qasmi, Asstt. General Secretary, All India Milli Council

10. Asghar Ali Imam, General Secretary, Jamiat Ahl-e-Hadith

11. Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi, President, A.I. Majlis Iteehadul Muslimeen

12. Ameeduzzaman Keranvi, Acting President, Tanzeem Ibna-e-Qadeem, Deoband

13. S.Q.R. Ilyas, Convener, AIMPLB Committee on Babari Masjid



Read and support The Milli Gazette 

O u t r e a c h I n d i a




Reading books can support The Milli Gazette !

Home | Dear Friends | How to join us | Subscription | Archives | Advertise | Contact Us | Publishers | Feedback | | SearchPublishers | Previous Highlights | OutreachIndia | Suggestions |
| MG's Discussion Board | E-cards Matrimonials | Latest Indian Muslim Statements |
Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Milli | Free for All LinksBookmark this page |

Disclaimer  © Copyright 2000-Present    Pharos Media & Publishing Pvt Ltd, New Delhi, India