Special Reports

President’s awards for Arabic and Persian

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee awarded Certificates of Honour to eminent scholars of Sanskrit, Pali/Prakrit, Arabic and Persian and the Maharishi Badrayan Vyas Samman to young scholars for the year 2014 on 23 March at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Dr Aurang Zeb Azmi recieving his award

The scheme for award of Certificates of Honour was introduced in the year 1958 by Ministry of Human Resource and Development, Govt. of India to honour the scholars of Sanskrit, Arabic and Persian Languages. The scheme was extended to cover Pali/Prakrit in 1996. From the year 2008, the scheme was further extended to cover one international award for an NRI or foreigner for their lifetime achievement in the field of Sanskrit.

The Maharishi Badrayan Vyas Samman for young scholars in the age group of 30 to 40 years in the field of Sanskrit, Pali/ Prakrit, Arabic and Persian was introduced in 2002. Recipients of the President’s Certificate of Honour for Arabic are Prof. Dr Ahmed Ibrahim Rahmatullah and Prof. Nisar Ahmad Ansari Azmi. Recipient for Persian is Prof. Shameem Akhtar while the recipient of Maharshi Badarayan Vyas Samman for Arabic is Dr Aurang Zeb Azmi who teaches Arabic in Jamia Millia Islamia (photo above) and the recipient for Persian is Dr Atiqur Rahman.   

This article appeared in The Milli Gazette print issue of 1-15 April 2015 on page no. 13

We hope you liked this report/article. The Milli Gazette is a free and independent readers-supported media organisation. To support it, please contribute generously. Click here or email us at sales@milligazette.com

blog comments powered by Disqus