Press Statements

Muslim Mushawarat elects new President and Central Working Committee

Results of the ALL INDIA MUSLIM MAJLIS-E-MUSHAWARAT election for 2016-2017 R.O’s Report, 1 January, 2016

Mr. Navaid Hamid has been elected as the President of the AIMMM for a term of two year till 31 December 2017. Out of 147 votes polled by 155 eligible voters, he scored 52 votes against Mr. Manzoor Ahmed IPS (Retd.) and Mr. Mohammad Adeeb who have respectively received 47 and 45 votes. 3 votes were declared invalid.

Navaid Hamid is a well known social worker and activist who is going to take charge as the 7th president of this 50 years old apex body of Indian Muslims.

According to the AIMMM constitution, the president and the newly elected executive committee will jointly appoint other office bearers shortly.

The following 20 members have been elected as members of the Markazi Majlis-e-Amla (Central Working Committee) of AIMMM for the term 2016-2017. They comprise:

Sr. No.Mr./Mrs.           Name of Candidates      Votes

1             Dr.         Zafarul-Islam Khan                      77

2             Mufti    Ataur Rahman Qasmi                   74

3             Mr.        Ahmad Rashid Shervani               68

4             Prof.      Akhtarul Wasey                              67

5             Ml          Asghar Ali Imam Mehdi Salfi      65

6             Mr.        Syed Shahabuddin                        61

7             Mr.        Mujtaba Farooq                               60

8             Mr.        Sultan Ahmed, MP                        57

9             Ml.        Mohammad Wali Rahmani       56

10          Ml.        Syed Jalaluddin Umri                  54

11          Ml.        Badruddin Ajmal, MP                  50

12          Ml.        Mohd. Asrarul Haque Qasmi    50

13          Dr.         Syed Farooq                                     50

14          Mr.        Masoom Moradabadi                   49

15          Mrs.      Uzma Naheed                              49

16          Mr.        Khwaja Mohammad Shahid      45

17          Mr.        Sirajuddin Qureshi                        45

18          Ml.        Mohammad Salim Qasmi          44

19          Shaikh Manzoor Ahmad                             42

20.         Hafiz    Rashid Ahmad Chaudhury        42


Abdul Rashid Agwan

For the Returning Officer

New Delhi: 1 January, 2016,

آل انڈیامسلم مجلس مشاورت


[Umbrella body of the Indian Muslim organisations]

D-250, Abul Fazal Enclave, Jamia Nagar

New Delhi-110025 India

Tel.: 011-26946780

Email:  Web:

We hope you liked this report/article. The Milli Gazette is a free and independent readers-supported media organisation. To support it, please contribute generously. Click here or email us at

blog comments powered by Disqus