Press Statements

Salman Khurshid must quit the Government and the Congress

Regarding the non-inclusion of vital recommendations of Joint Parliamentary Committee on Waqfs and the Prime Minister's High Level Committee on Muslims (Sachar Committee) in Waqf Amendment Bill 2010 drafted by his ministry, Shri Salman has said in Chennai on 25 June that Sachar Committee Report is not Quran. This is blasphemy, (behurmati).

Earlier, in a letter to Zakat Foundation of India, Shri Salman said that the Joint Parliamentary Committee on Waqfs and the Sachar Committee cannot claim monopoly to wisdom (though he did not mention that he is weighing their wisdom against whose).

Does this mean that the Congress and UPA have been making fool of the Muslims for five long years in the garb of Sachar Report? Also, by saying this Shri Khurshid has opposed the Prime Minister and the Union Cabinet who approved the Sachar Report in 2007 and made the Ministry of Minority Affairs as nodal ministry to monitor implementation of the Sachar Report.

Shri Khurshid has also over-ruled the pivotal recommendations of the JPC on Waqfs without giving any reasons thereof while presenting the Waqf Bill in Parliament. Thus, he has violated the privileges of both the Houses of Parliament by showing down the Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) on Waqfs and hiding his non-compliance of JPC. Shri Salman has gone against the Congress and UPA policy regarding Muslim interests and against the collective responsibility of the central government which is the cornerstone of our sacred Constitution. Thus, he must resign from the Government and the Congress. Also, the Government, the Congress and the UPA should clarify their position vis-a-vis Shri Salman's statement committing blasphemy against the Holy Quran and rejecting the recommendations of the JPC on Waqfs and the Sachar Committee (most of which overlap).

1. Dr Syed Zafar Mahmood, President, Zakat Foundation of India, New Delhi 110025. Phone 0-9810334141
2. Dr Zafarul Islam Khan, Working President, All India Muslim Majlis-e-Mushawarat, New Delhi
3. Mujtaba Farooq, General Secretary, Jamaat-e-Islami Hind, Delhi 0-9810863691
4. Maulana Mohammad Mukarram, Shahi Imam, Masjid Fatehpuri, Delhi
5. Mufti Fuzailur Rahman Hilal Usmani, Mufti-e-Azam, Punjab & Shaikhul Jamia, Darussalam, Maler Kotla, Punjab
6. Ghayasuddin Babukhan, Chairman, Hyderabad Zakat & Charitable Trust, Hyderabad
7. Dr Azimuddin, Coordinator, Federation of Minorities NGOs of Maharashtra, Mumbai
8. Haroon Mozawala and Ashfaq Vaid, Khair-e-Ummat Trust, Mumbai
9. Aftabuddin Sarkar, President, Federation of Muslim Associations of West Bengal, Kolkata
10. Anwar Premi, Gen Sec Sir Syed Educational Group, Kolkata
11. Major K. Ibrahim, President, All-Kerala Council of College Principals, Mallapuram, Kerala
12. Dr Iqtedar Farooqi, Secretary, Urdu Scientific Society, Lucknow
Issued by Zakat Foundation of India
26 June 2011

We hope you liked this report/article. The Milli Gazette is a free and independent readers-supported media organisation. To support it, please contribute generously. Click here or email us at

blog comments powered by Disqus