Community up in arms against OBC quota in JMI

New Delhi: A strong movement is taking shape within the Muslim community against the UGC’s concerted attempt, accompanied with threats to withhold all new grants, to force Jamia Millia Islamia to introduce 27% OBC reservation from the next academic year. Added to the 22.5% SC/ST reservation already enforced in this minority institution established by Muslims in 1920, even the internal quota will be reduced from the current 25% to a mere 0.5% according to the Supreme Court judgement which does not allow reservation to exceed 50% in any institution. Jamia community, Old Boys and Teachers associations have come out openly against this backdoor attempt to rob JMI of its minority character, battle for which is being fought in the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions headed by Justice Suhail Siddiqui. Muslim organisations and important personalities like Imam Bukhari, Mufti Mukarram Ahmad and Syed Shahabuddin have joined the All India Muslim Majlis-e Mushawarat in starting a campaign to stop this surreptitious move which will rob the JMI of any chance to regain its minority character. Posters (above) appeared last week on the walls of Delhi’s Muslim localities like Old Delhi, Okhla and Seelampur warning the community that the imposition of the OBC quota on Jamia Millia will make its case for minority character much more complicated and difficult and the community will remain embroiled in the issues for decades as happened earlier with Aligarh Muslim University. The appeal asked community leaders to exert pressure on the government to stop the application of this additional quota and impress upon it to support the Jamia’s case for minority status at the National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions.
Signatories to the appeal are: Imam Ahmad Bukhari of Delhi Jama Masjid; Mufti Mukarram Ahmad, Imam of Fatehpuri Mosque; Ml. Sayyid Arshad Madni, President, Jamiat Ulama-e Hind; Syed Shahabuddin, former MP; Nusrat Ali, General Secretary, Jama’at-e Islami Hind; Dr Zafarul-Islam Khan, President, All India Muslim Majlis-e Mushawarat; Ml. Asghar Imam Mahdi Salafi, General Secretary, Markazi Jamiat Ahl-e Hadees; Sayyid Shariful Hasan Naqvi, General Secretary, All India Shia Conference; Javed Habib, President, Bharati Majlis; Shahid Siddiqui, former MP; Navaid Hamid, General Secretary, MOEMIN, Suhail KK, President, SIO; Ml. Ataur Rahman Qasmi, Chairman, Shah Waliullah Institute; Ml. Zeeshan Hidayati, President, Majlis-e Fikro ‘Amal; Dr SQR Ilyas, Editor, Afkar-e Milli and Muhammad Adeeb, MP.

This article appeared in The Milli Gazette print issue of 16-30 November 2009 on page no. 1

We hope you liked this report/article. The Milli Gazette is a free and independent readers-supported media organisation. To support it, please contribute generously. Click here or email us at

blog comments powered by Disqus