Community News

Men & Women in news last fortnight

WAJAHAT HABIBULLAH, India’s first Chief Information Commissioner who retired on 30 September last year has been appointed Chairman of National Commission for Minorities on 2 February by central government in place of former Chairman of NCM, Muhammad Shafi Quresh who had retired in September last year. Ever since that time this post was lying vacant. W. Habibullah has taken over his charge on 3 February. Government has also appointed KAKI DARUWALA, poet and author as a member of NCM as representative of Parsi community. Third member of NCM is Dr. H.T. SANGLIANA who is Vice Chairman of NCM.

KHWAJA HASAN GAFOOR, senior-most IPS officer and DGP of Anti-Corruption Bureau who was Mumbai’s Police Commissioner for 16 months till the terrorist attack in Mumbai on 26 November 2008 when he had to be shifted because of some controversy, retired on 31 December 2010 after 36 years of unblemished service in Indian Police.

FIROZ KAMAL ABBASI, senior Congress leader and Vice President of N.A. Girls Degree College of Amroha has been elected general secretary of All India Muslim Education Society, an organisation of South India which is actively working for promotion of education of Muslims, particularly of girls, by setting up a number of madrasas and schools etc since 1964.

Prof. NAAZ QADIRI, former Head of Urdu Department of Bihar University, Muzaffarpur has been appointed Special Professor of the same University for two years by the University Grants Commission. During this period he will perform teaching as well as research job in Urdu Department at a monthly remuneration of Rs 1 lakh.

Mrs. NAGHMA EEMAAN, an independent film maker of Delhi in acknowledgement of her laudable efforts in improving the condition of women and also because of good work in the field of environment has been selected by UNDP (United Nations Development Programme) for a Fellowship. Under this Fellowship she has been assigned the task of making a film on the way of life of girls living and working in the slums (jhuggi-jhonpadis) of Mumbai’s Jogeshwari locality. This film, to be named The Shifting Line, will depict the miserable life of the girls living in these slums, their education, jobs and their aspirations and future expectations.

Dr. MUHAMMAD SHAMSUZ ZOHA, President of Patna University’s Department of Persian has been appointed Vice Chancellor Incharge of Maulana Mazharul Haq Arbi-Farsi University in place of former VC Dr. Qamar Ahsan by Bihar Governor Dev Anand Kunwar.

DANISH MUJTABA alongwith Ms. ALKA TOMAR who won medals in Commonwealth and Asian Games in the year 2010 have been appointed Sports Officers in Uttar Pradesh Power Corporation on the instructions of Chief Minister Mayawati.

EBADUR RAHMAN, B. Tech (Civil) Final Year student of AMU’s Z.H. College of Engg & Technology has been elected ‘Tech Star Ambassador’ in the national level Technical and Management Paper and Project Presentation Competition ‘Tech Star-10’. About 10,000 students from different universities and colleges of India had taken part in this competition. For the final presentation 482 students of IIT, IIM, NIT, BIT and other reputed institutions were invited to Hyderabad. Ebadur Rahman was also awarded a cash prize.

AIUTC state presidents: The Chairman of All India Unani Tibbi Congress, Mr. SHAMSUL AFAQ has nominated state chairmen of the Congress on 30 Dec. 2010. According to a press statement of the Honorary General Secretary Dr. Saeed Ahmad Khan, names of state chairman are as follows: Dr. ABDUL HASEEB for Delhi, Dr. WASEEM AHMAD AZMI for Uttar Pradesh, Dr. CHAUDHARY MUHAMMAD MUNAWWAR KHAN for Rajasthan, Dr. SM HUSAIN for Maharashtra,Dr. FAZLULLAH QADIRI for Bihar, DR. ZAHIDUL BARI for West Bengal, Dr. MUHAMMAD KAMAL for Orissa, Dr. MIRZA LUTFULLAH for Andhra Pradesh, Dr. MASOOD AKHTAR SIDDIQUEE for Madhya Pradesh Dr. DILIP YADAV for Chhattisgarh,Dr. IQBAL MEMON for Karnataka, Dr. K.T. AJMAL for Kerala, Dr. ABDUS SATTAR SAJID for Tamil Nadu, Dr. HAKEEMUDDIN AZAD for Punjab, Dr. ISRAR AHMAD for Haryana, Dr. MUHAMMAD ASLAM KHAN for Uttarakhand, Dr. FAKIHUDDIN for Manipur, Dr. ABDUL NOAMAN AHMAD for Jharkhand and Dr. MUHAMMAD SHAMIM for Gujarat. Besides them, Dr. SABAHATULLAH Amrohvi was nominated as chairman of the youth wing of AIUTC.

This article appeared in The Milli Gazette print issue of 16-28 February 2011 on page no. 16

We hope you liked this report/article. The Milli Gazette is a free and independent readers-supported media organisation. To support it, please contribute generously. Click here or email us at

blog comments powered by Disqus