Human Rights

Eight Kandhmal rioters convicted

Behrampur: The fast track court of Phulbani convicted eight persons for their involvement in arson during communal riots in Kandhmal district in 2008. They were awarded three years of punishment and a fine of Rs 1000 each by judge Shobhan Kumar Das. These persons were found guilty of torching houses at Megubali village in Daringbadi area. Out of 24 accused, 16 have been acquitted for lack of evidence.

This article appeared in The Milli Gazette print issue of 16-31 October 2010 on page no. 11

We hope you liked this report/article. The Milli Gazette is a free and independent readers-supported media organisation. To support it, please contribute generously. Click here or email us at

blog comments powered by Disqus