Community News

Awards for Indian Muslims last fortnight

SHIEKH B. ALI, noted historian and educationist and author of about two dozen books has been selected by Institute of Objective Studies, New Delhi for being honoured with its Lifetime Achievement Award. Native of a town in Karnataka, he is 86 years old and is the founder of Mysore and Goa universities, of both of which he was also the Vice Chancellor. This Award consists of a certificate, memento and a cheque of Rs one lakh.

MA’SOOM MURADABADIUrdu journalist MA’SOOM MURADABADI (picture on left) has been honoured with Dr. Sa’adat Ali Award by Dr. Sa’adat Ali Memorial Society in recognition of his services to the community through raising and highlighting the problems of Muslims through his newspapers and writings.

TANWEER AHMAD, former chairman of Haj Committee of India, who is also the President of BJP’s minority cell, was honoured by India International Friendship Association with Bharat Jyoti Award for providing good services for Hajis during his tenure. The Award was presented to him jointly by former governor Bhishm Narayan Singh and senior Supreme Court Advocate Ram Jethmalani.

SHAHNAZ HUSAIN of Shahnaz Herbal fame has been honoured with Federation of Indian Women Entrepreneurs ‘FIWE Unleashing Women Power Award’ as the globally recognised face of Indian women entrepreneurs and for taking the herbal heritage worldwide. The Award was given to her by Delhi chief minister Shiela Dikshit at a function held on 9 March at India International Centre in celebration of International Women’s Day.

M.J. WARSI, linguist and researcher was honoured with Urdu-Hindi Award for his contribution in the field of Urdu-Hindi language and linguistics at the 22nd International Urdu-Hindi literary conference held at Lucknow on 7 March. The awards were also given to Nawaz Deobandi and some others.

MUJATABA HUSAIN, FUZAIL JAFFERY, Ms. SALMA SIDDIQI and HASAN KAMAL have been honoured with Maharashtra State Urdu Academy Awards for literature and journalism. The Awards were presented to these people at a function held on 14 March in the presence of chief minister Prithvi Raj Chauhan. In addition to these persons, one award was announced posthumously for Yusuf Nazim for his humorous and sarcastic works.

Dr. SYED AHMAD KHAN, general secretary of All India Unani Tibbi Congress and assistant director of CCRUM was honoured with A.U. Azmi National Award in recognition of his efforts for the promotion of indigenous i.e., Unani system of medicine. He also rendered great service in the promotion of Urdu language.

MUHAMMAD SUHAIL Lokhandwala, Principal was honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his valuable services in social, educational and welfare fields. The Award was presented to him by Jayant Patil, Maharashtra’s minister for rural development.

QARI HABIBUR RAHMAN of Tamil Nadu,QARI MUHAMMAD USMAN of Delhi and QARI ZIAUR RAHMAN also of Tamil Nadu have secured First, Second and Third position respectively in the All India Qira’t Competition. In the All India Hafiz competition, Hafiz Abdul Khaliq of Muzaffar Nagar (UP), Hafiz Asadullah of Delhi and Hafiz Zahid Muzammil of Saharanpur (UP) secured First, Second and Third position respectively. Both these competitions were held in India Islamic Cultural Centre, New Delhi and were jointly sponsored by Iran Culture House and India Islamic Cultural Centre. All these people were awarded cash prizes and certificates. Maulana Qari Mazhar Ali of Baanda (UP), Maulana Qari Muhammad Reyaz of Nadwatul Ulama of Lucknow, Maulana Qari Azadar Abbas Khanof Mumbai, Qari Nadeen Ahmad Qasmi Muzaffar Nagri served as judges and Qari Sadaat Fatemi of Iran served as the Chief Judge.

Dr. RAZA-UR RAHMAN AAKIF Sambhali, Urdu lecturer in MGM Post-Graduate College, Sambhal has been honoured with Aatash Academy, Kudappa (AP)’s ‘Aatash Award 2010’ for his bookShagufta Bayani Meri based on humour and sarcasm.

KAMAL DEOBANDI, author and journalist has been honoured by Dr. Anjum Jamali Memorial Foundation, Meerut with Dr. Anjum Jamali Special Award in recognition of his journalistic and literary services. During the past 30 years he has written 5 Urdu and Hindi books in addition to approximately 800 articles, reviews and other materials in Urdu, Hindi and English newspapers and magazines.

Dr. ASIF Barelvi was honoured with ‘Man of the Year 2010’ Award at a function held by All India Intellectual Peace Academy held at Rotary Bhawan on behalf of Board of Research of United Nations in the presence of Income Tax Commissioner Dr. Ramesh Kumar, Deputy Commissioner Sultan Ahmad, Chief Engineer (Hydel) and other dignitaries.

MERAJUL ISLAM SHABAB, a research scholar in AMU’s Dept of Botany was honoured with Young Scientist Award 2011 on the occasion of Thirteenth Indian Agricultural and Farmers Conference held at Allahabad University for presentation of Best Paper on ‘Recent Advances in Microbial Fertilizers, Production and Utilisation Technology’. He has also been honoured with Best Paper Presentation Award on ‘Integrated Pest & Disease Management in Arid and Semi-Arid Areas’ at Arid Forest Research Institute at Jodhpur.

This article appeared in The Milli Gazette print issue of 1-15 April 2011 on page no. 16

We hope you liked this report/article. The Milli Gazette is a free and independent readers-supported media organisation. To support it, please contribute generously. Click here or email us at

blog comments powered by Disqus