Community News

Awards for Indian Muslims last fortnight

Prof. OBAID SIDDIQI has been honoured with ‘Lifetime Achievement Award 2009, in recognition of his contributions in the field of science, technology and engineering. The Award was presented to him by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at a function held in Delhi on 29 March.

SYED BASHARAT, special correspondent of Kashmir Times daily has been honoured with ‘Pradeep Shinde Excellence in Journalism Award’ instituted by Mumbai Press Club. The Award was presented to him by former Supercop and also former Indian ambassador to Romania Julio Riberio and famous cricketer Ajit Wadekar at a function held in Mumbai.

Dr. SAAERA MEHNAZ, Asstt. Professor in the Community Medicine Department of AMU’s JN Medical College was honoured with ‘P.L. Sharma Best Paper Awrd’ in the 38th Annual National Conference of Indian Association of Preventive & Social Medicines held at M.K. C.G. Medical College, Behrampur (Orissa) on 22 February. She had presented her research paper on ‘….Maternal Health Practices in Two Urban Slums of Aligarh’. Twelve research papers were short-listed for the Award by a team of experts of which Mehnaz’s paper was adjudged the best. She had prepared her Paper after studying the condition of pregnant women living in two localities: Nabi Nagar and Mahfooz Nagar of Aligarh.

Here is an award, not to a person but to a historical building i.e. Delhi’s RED FORT. It has been honoured with ‘National Tourism Award for the Best Maintained and Disabled-Friendly Monument’. The Award was presented by Lok Sabha Speaker Mrs. Meera Kumar to Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)’s officers led by ASI superintendent of Delhi Circle, K.K. Muhammad at a function held at Delhi on 29 March.

Prof. MUSHIRUL HASAN, noted historian and former Vice Chancellor of Jamia Millia Islamia University, Mrs. Kapila Vatsyayan, Rajya Sabha MP, Prof. Muzaffar Alam, History professor of Chicago University, Prof. Harbans Mukhia, a prominent historian and Prof. Pillai, Vice Chancellor of IGNOU have been honoured with Abu Rehan Al Bairuni Award which consists of a Gold Medal, certificate and a memento. The Awards were given at a function sponsored by Iranian  Culture House at India Islamic Cultural Centre.

Students securing first, second and third positions in spoken and written contests held in AMU’s Department of Theology were honoured with prize and certificate at a function held on 2 April. In spoken/declamation contest G.V.K. MUNIR won first prize, MURAD HUSAIN won second prize and ABDUL HAMEED secured third prize. In essay (written) competition first, second and third prizes were given to SHAMSUZ ZOHA, (Ms.) TASNEEM KAUSAR and Syed DAUD ZILLI respectively. The prizes were distributed by acting Vice Chancellor Prof. Syed Abrar Hasan.