Community News


(as published in 16-30 November 2010 issue)

United Muslim of India and Urdu Development Organisation, like previous years, have selected the following persons for honouring them with awards for their services in different fields for promotion of Urdu: (1) MUZAFFARULLAH KHAN of Rampur to be honoured with Mahfoozur Rahman Award for journalism, (2) ABDUL HAMEED RAHMANI of Delhi with Qazi Adeel Abbasi Award for educational and milli services (3) MUHAMMAD ATIQUE of Jodhpur with Maulana Azad Award for national harmony (4) WAQAR MANVI (Delhi) with Hafeez Meeruthi Award for literature (5) ABDUS SAMI (of Islamic Book Trust, Delhi) with Munshi Nawal Kishore Award for Islamic Publications (6) Dr ZEBA ZEENAT (of Fortnightly Hamari Taaqat, Jaipur) with Allama Iqbal Trophy for Promotion of Urdu Language. The Awards will be given to the selected people at a function to be held on 9 November which is Allama Iqbal’s birth day and observed as Urdu Day.

As many as 394 students belonging to Muslim minority community who secured 60 percent or more marks in 10th class UP Board examination held in March 2010 were given cash prizes of Rs 1000 each, a Commendation Certificate and a Medal at a function sponsored by Human Welfare Foundation, New Delhi and P.M. Foundation, Kerala and held at Lucknow on 24 October. Such award giving function will also be held at Kolkata on 29 November and at Patna on 19 December. It may also be mentioned that a similar award giving function was held in Assam on 10 October when such awards were given to 300 minority students of Assam.

A.R. RAHMAN, well-known musician and music director and Rama Krishna Mission Asharam at Narayanpur in Chhattisgarh state have been selected for being honoured with 25th Indira Gandhi Award for national integration for the year 2009 for promoting national integration in the country. The Award consisting of a citation and a cheque for Rs 2.5 lakh each were given by Mrs Sonia Gandhi, Congress president to Rahman and a representative of R.K. Mission Asharam at a function held in Delhi on 31 October, death anniversary of Indira Gandhi.

Of about 180 workers who were honoured with different categories of Shram (labour) Awards by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at a function held at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi on 15 September for the years 2005, 2006 and 2007 only 4 Muslims were selected for being honoured with these Awards. They are (For the year 2005): MIRZA FARID BAIG, Forman ‘A’ (Public Sector) honoured with Shram Bhushan Award, SYED MUSHIR AHMAD, Master Technician honoured with Shram Vir Award and ABDUR RAUF KHAN, Sr Operator – A honoured with Shram Shri Award. For the year 2006: No Muslim awardee either in Public or Private Sector. For the year 2007: ABDUL JABBAR KHAN (Public Sector), Tech. Asstt. ‘B’ honoured with Shram Vir Award.

Wali Rahmani, Islamic sholar and Sajjada Nashin of Khanqah Rahmani in Munger, was awarded with Rajiv Gandhi Excellence Award-2009. The award was handed over to him in a function held in New Delhi on 19th September this year. Maulana Rahmani was given the award in recognition of his remarkable efforts to make the community educationally, socially and religiously empowered. He is not only the head of Jamia Rahmani, Munger, where hundreds of Muslims kids are imparted religious education, but also the chairman of Rahmani Foundation which is serving the community in several ways. But Rahmani-30, a chapter of Rahmani Foundation, brought him much publicity and praise from across the country.For Maulana Rahmani it was second occasion in this very year when he was awarded with such prestigious award. Earlier he was given Bharat Jyoti Ratna Award. He was also awarded with Shiksha Ratna Award two years back. Rajiv Gandhi Excellence Award was instituted in 1994 to encourage those who are working for the ufliftment of the people in different ways. (TCN)