Community News

Awards for Indian Muslims last fortnight

Dr. MUHAMMAD SHAMIM, Assistant Professor in AMU’s J.N. Medical College (Department of T.B. and Chest Pulmonary Diseases) has been honoured with Bharat Jyoti Award which is given every year to persons for their distinguished services in the fields of science & technology, education, industry, fine arts, social service etc. Dr. SHAMIM has been honoured with many awards earlier also like Asia Pacific Society of Respirology’s Award (Japan), American College of Chest Physician Award (Chicago) etc.   Prof. ZAMAN AAZURDAHand Prof. JA’FRI have been selected for being honoured with Fakhruddin Ali Ahmad Ghalib Award for their contributions in the fields of Urdu criticism and research in Persian respectively by Ghalib Institute. A decision to this effect was taken in a meeting of Urdu litterateurs and scholars chaired by Prof. Siddiqur Rahman Qidwai. Others also selected for Ghalib Award for their excellence in different fields are: AMEEN ASHRAF for his valuable contribution in Urdu poetry, Mrs. SOGHRA MEHDI for Urdu prose, SAYEED ALAM for Hum Sab Ghalib Award for Urdu drama’ ABID RAZABedaar’ (Rampur) with Ghalib Atlas Award for overall literary services and RAM PRAKASH KAPOOR of Haryana for Special Ghalib Award for overall services to Urdu. The Awards, consisting of a medal, a Certificate and a cheque for Rs. 75,000 each will be given to the selected persons at Jashn-e Ghalib function to be held on 23 December.   TANVEER AHMAD, former chairman of Central Haj Committee has been honoured with International Gold Award by India International Friendship Association for his services in improving Haj services and facilities for Hajis. The Award was given to him, who is also president of BJP’s Minorities Front in India, by R.A.K. Medical and Health Sciences University’s Vice Chancellor Dr. S.G. Madho Rao at a function held in Dubai.   Maulana MUHAMMAD HASEEB SIDDIQI, a respectable personality of Deoband, chairman of Deoband Nagar Palika Parishad, popular social worker and promoter of general and technical education is among the eight important persons who have been selected for being honoured with Maulana Muhammad Ali Jauhar Award by Maulana Muhammad Ali Jauhar Academy, New Delhi. Others also selected for this Award are S.Y. QURESHI, Chief Election Commisioner, SANJIV BHAT, IPS officer who boldly fought against Narendra Modi’s vindictive actions against him; ZAFAR AGHA, noted journalist, JAGDISH TYTLER, former minister; MUHAMMAD NAJIB ASHRAF Chaudhari, Chief Income Tax Commissioner; NUSRAT Gwalliori, Urdu poet and BEGUM REHANA A.R. ANDRE of Mumbai. The Awards will be given to the awardees at a function to be held on 10 December on 133rd birth day of Maulana Jauhar at India Islamic Cultural Centre, New Delhi chaired by Justice MSA Siddiqi.   GHUFRAN FARIDI, poet and senior journalist was honoured with Award by All India Muslim Backward Samaj’s United Front for protecting Human Rights and Public Service. Others honoured with awards for their valuable services in different fields are: Prof. HASAN AHMAD NIZAMI in the field of promoting education,MASHKOOR AHMAD KHAN in the field of journalism,FARHAT ALI KHAN, Hockey Coach in the field of sports, SULTAN SAIFI for social service and MUSLIM AFAAQI in the field of Urdu poetry. The Awards, consisting of shawl and Certificate of Honour, were given by Dr. Balkar Singh, District Collector of Rampur on 12 November.