Community News

Men & Women in news last fortnight

Mahatma Jyotiba Phule Ruhelkhand University has conferred on Ms NIKHAT NAQVI PhD Degree for her research work ‘A Geographical Study of District Rampur: Women’s Role in Agricultural and Industrial Development’, which she completed under the guidance of Prof. Rashmi Sharma of RSM College, Dhampur, UP.

Professor ARIF INAM head of the department of Botany and Prof FARZANA ALEEM head of the department of Home Science were appointed to the AMU court as members on 8 December 2010. They will remain members of the university court for three years or as long as they are heads of their respective departments.

Dr. BADARUL ISLAMof Kirana was nominated to the Bharat Scouts and Guides as its executive member on 7 December 2010. He is a national award winner of Yoga gold medals and has authored many books both in Hindi and Urdu on yoga.

Chaudhry JAMSHED ALAMwas elected National President for the second time by the International Human Rights Commission in a meeting held at New Delhi on 9 Dec. 2010. He has worked for the rights of brick klin workers and also tirelessly fought to bring the model Raj Mishra’s case to CBI. He is well-known for his guidance provided to hundreds of human rights workers in India.

Ms INTEKHAB RANA was elected chairperson of Muzaffar Nagar Zila Panchayat. She was a BSP candidate who secured 25 votes out of a total of 53 votes and became the first person from the minority community to be elected to the post after the independence. She is the wife of local BSP MLA Shahnawaz Rana.

Dramatist and senior officer at Urdu Academy ANEES AZMI was given the additional charge of the secretary of the Academy. He replaces Mr. Marghoob Haider Bidi who retires on 31 Dec. 2010.

HAFIZ ABDUS SALAM of BSP was elected chairman of Rampur Zila Parishad unopposed on 12 Dec. 2010 when another candidate also of BSP Mr. Bharat Bhushan with drew his candidature. He replaces Ms Zahida Islam who was the first Muslim chairperson for the next five year.

Mr. KHALID SIDDIQUI was elected officiating President of the Western Uttar Pradesh Udyog Vyapar Mandal on 16 Dec. for the Mathura Convention.

Rajputana Medical Teachers Association elected its office bearers on 10 Dec 2010. According to the Gen. Sec. of the Association Prof. Dr. ABDUL MALIK andDr. ZULFIQQAR ALI were elected as president and Gen. Sec. respectively. Executive committee of the Association also elected Dr. KAUSAR ALI, Dr. MUHAMMAD IRSHAD as Vice Presidents,Dr. HINA HAIDER as secretary, Dr. MUHAMMAD SAFWAN as joint secretary and Dr. MUHAMMAD AYUB as treasurer.

Mr. IQRAR AHMAD secretary Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee was appointed (non-government) Director of State Bank of India by the Union Finance Minister Prahab Mukerji on 9 Dec. 2010.

Professor TARIQ MANSOOR senior surgeon of JNU Medical College Aligarh Muslim University took over the charge of the president of the Association of Surgeons of India, UP chapter from professor Ramakant of KG Medical University, Lucknow on 13 Dec. 2010. He is the first one from Aligarh to assume the post. The Association has around 1600 members in the state. Prof. Mansoor has published more than 76 research papers in different medical journals.

Mrs ZAIBUN NISA has been chosen by the government of Bihar as one of the faces for its 2011 calendar. Mrs Zaibun Nisa a mother of five has turned the fate not only of her family but also of her village women folk through sheer courage, labour and determination. She had started making ‘sattu’ (gram flour) and ground spices with the self-help group with an initial capital of Rs 20,000 only. Now she has become a source of aspiration for local people. Zaibun Nisa says that she comes from a peasant family and labour is her main stay. She is always ready to help the poor and very happy to know that the calendar will carry her picture.

International shooterFAROOQ of Johri village Baghpat was presented a German pistol by Baghpat Police Captain Mr. Deepak Kumar on 14 Dec. 2010. Mr. Deepak Kumar arranged the amount of Rs. 100,000 in collaboration with the chairman of Desh Bhakt Sena Trust, Baghpat Mr. Manoj Vashishth who also contributed with Rs 21,000. Mr. Farooq was very pleased and thankful to them. He earlier used to participate in international events with borrowed pistols.

SHAFAT HUSSAIN SHEIKH of Handwara J&K topped MBA Finance Session of Skyline University Sharjah.

Young table tennis playerFASAL ALI of AMU won the third UP State TT championship in the youth section on 11 Dec. 2010. He is a class Xth student of AMU.

AATIF SUHARWARDI of Amity University secured the highest marks in the LLB Exam. He was felicitated with Gold medal by Justice Markenday Katju of Supreme Court on 18 Dec. 2010.

SHARIQ MUSTAFA of Phulawa, UP secured the 38th position in the GAT 2010 and was posted as a junior scientist ‘B’ at Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).

MUNIRA SALAM and ABDUL AZEEM were chosen for the best entries in a competition of poetry and Prose Section organised by Coalition for Nuclear Disarmament and Peace (CNDP) which works for nuclear-free world. Poems of Munira Salam and Akshara Mishra of Benign Tree School, Delhi were adjudged the best among the top ten while Abdul Azeem excelled in essay writing.

MUHAMMAD ABBAS KHAN a student of BDS final, 2007, of Dr. Ziyauddin Ahmad Dental College Aligarh was awarded a gold and a bronze medal in the 14th International Conference of Indian Association of Public Health (Dentistry) 2010 held at Mysore (Karnataka). Mr. Khan was awarded gold medal for securing the highest marks in the 3rd professional exam of Community Dentistry. His bronze medal was for national essay competition.

Mr. SHAKIL AHMAD KAKVI will represent State of Qatar in Bihar conclave 2010. Mr. Ahmad is the founder of Kaenat Foundation and President of India Association for Bihar and Jharkhand an organisation of Biharis living in Qatar. He is working for spread of education among the community.

Dr. SHABBIR ASHRA Freader in plant protection was appointed provost of AMU after Dr. Khalid bin Yusuf’s resignation was accepted by the Vice Chancellor.

Dr. Mujibur Rahman was nominated as member of the UP state Congress committee on 18 December, 2010.

Advocate MUHAMMAD ASLAM KHAN and Advocate M. RAIS FAROOQUI were elected president and general secretary of AMU law forum respectively in a meeting held at Tis Hazari New Delhi on 11 Dec. 2010. The forum also elected Advocate SHAMS TABREZ and Advocate ZAKIR RAZA as the two vice presidents,Advocate MANSOOR ANSARI as treasurer Advocate RASHID SAYED and Advocate AMSUL HAQ as joint secretaries. The Forum works to help new passed out lawyers from Aligarh Muslim University so as to practice law in Delhi.