Community News

Awards for Indian Muslims last fortnight

Noted Hindi poet Dr. SHAMIM Deobandi has been selected for being honoured with ‘Vidya Vachaspati’ Award by Vikramshila Hindi Vidya Peeth, Bhagalpur. The Award will be given to him at a function to be held soon.

Dr. NAWAZ Deobandi, a popular poet and Ms SEEMA AGRAWAL singer were honoured with Masroor Khan Saroha Award at a function held on the occasion of 26th Foundation Day of Adaakar Group at Saharanpur on 20 December.

SHEEN KAAF (S.K.) NIZAM, famous Urdu poet’s anthology Gumshuda Dair ki goonjti ghantiaan (Resounding bells of the lost temple/monastery) has been selected as the best book in Urdu for this year’s (2010) Sahitya Academy’s literary award. Selection of best books in 22 Indian languages published between the period January 2006 and December 2008 and their authors was made in the meeting of Academy’s Executive Board chaired by its Chairman Sunil Gangopadhya. The announcement of best books and their authors was made by Academy’s secretary, Agrahara Krishna Murthy. The awards consisting of Sahitya Academy’s emblem, one shawl and a cheque for Rs one lakh each will be presented to the authors of selected books at a function to be held in Delhi on 15 February 2011. For Hindi, Uday Prakash, short story writer, poet and translator has been selected for the Academy’s award for his book Mohan Das.

Urdu Academy Karnataka conferred its Awards to eminent scholars of Urdu language and literature at a function at Unika Hall Mangalore on 26 Sep. 2010. These awards were given to, Maulana ILYAS NADWI of Bhatkal for his contribution in the field of education, Mr ASKARI RAZA, editor, The Daily Siyasat for journalism, Mr NOOR DAGH for non-fiction prose,Mr YUSUF ARFI for fiction and Ms SHAISTA YUSUF for poetry. The awards include cash prize of rupees 10,000 and a memento. Other important works were also given special prizes. They include Poet ZIA ALI for (poetry) ‘Shub ki ZiaMr AHMAD BIRQ for (prose) ‘A’mal Name’ and Ms BIRJEES BEGUM for (afsana collection) ‘Kuffara’. Two other works from other state, SUHEL AKHTAR’SMunjamid Aflak ke Sea Tale’, Bhuwaneswar Orissa and Mr HISAR HAMEED’S (poetry collection) ‘Jal Tarang’ were also given special prizes.

MOSHIM KHAN of Kukatpally, Hyderabad was chosen for the Best Employee/Self Employed with Disability Award for Mental retardation in the main award section and M/s Ali Yavar Jung National Institute of Hearing Handicapped, Mumbai was chosen for Website in Government, Public Sector and Private Sector with the Best “Accessibility” Features award under Public Sector/Autonomous/Local Bodies section of the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. The awards were given away by Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil, Hon’ble President of India on 3 Dec. 2010.

MUHAMMAD IQBALwas awarded the ‘role model disabled person – Shell-Hellen Keller Award. The 12th NCPED Awards were given away by Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram on 2 December 2010 in Delhi.

National Awards and Shilp Guru Awards for 2007 and 2008 for craftsperson and weavers were announced on 23 Nov. 2010 by Ministry of Textile. Altogether 19 Muslims for 2007 and 12 for 2008 National awards figure in the list, while three for 2007and two for 2008, get Shilp Guru Award respectively. Besides this, 13 and 7 Muslims get National Merit certificate for 2007 and 2008 respectively.

Professor P.K. Abdul Aziz, Vice Chancellor Aligarh Muslim University was conferred Devang Mehta Business School Award for his excellent contribution in the field of Higher Education in India in the 18th Business School Affairs function held on 4 December 2010 at Mumbai. The award is given for his good leadership in business management schools in India.

Dr. PRABHAT KUMAR of the department of Electrical Engineering, ZH College of Engg. & Tech,. Aligarh Muslim University, was chosen for the Best Citizen of India 2010 by National Publishing House.