Community News


MUNAWWAR RANA, prominent and popular Urdu, Hindi poet was honoured with Vishisht Rituraj Samman Award under ‘Parampara Kavita Parv 2012’ on the occasion of a Kavi Sammelan held at India Habitat Centre on 15 August. The Award consists of a cheque of Rs. one lakh and a certificate. Though Munawwar Rana belongs to Rai Bareilly, he spent large part of his life in Kolkata and hence he composed poetry in Bengali also.   Prof. GOPI CHAND NARANG, famous Urdu critic, scholar and internationally known figure in the world of Urdu has been honoured by Pakistan government with its third highest civilian Award, Sitara-e Imtiaz on the occasion of that country’s Independence Day. Dr. Narang, now 82, is an author of about 70 books. He has written some books in English and Hindi also and many of his books have been translated into many Indian languages. The Award will be given to him by the President of Pakistan on 23 March, Pakistan’s Republic Day.   Prof. HAFIZ ABDUL MANNAN, HAFIZ SHAH TAQI ANWAR and Prof. KHAN MUHAMMAD ATIF, scholar of Persian and Maulana Mufti HEKEEM AHMAD HASAN Khan, Prof. Syed KAFEEL AHMAD QASMI and Prof. SHAMS TABREZ Khan scholar of Arabic alongwith many scholars of Sanskrit and Pali languages were honoured with Maharshi Badrayan Vyas Samman Award by the President of India Pranab Mukherjee in recognition of their valuable services and proficiency in their respective languages. Their selection and names were announced earlier also but prizes and scrolls of honour were given at a function held on 15 August.   AEJAZ NABI KARIGAR, a noted poet and educationist of Sholapur (Maharashtra) and Prof. MUHAMMAD SHAFI CHOBDAR of Social Senior College of Arts & Commerce have been honoured by Maharashtra State Urdu Academy with its Award for their valuable services in the field of education. In addition to them, SHOAIB HASHMI, bold and fearless journalist and ETV’s Urdu representative has been honoured by the Academy with Haroon Rashid Award for journalism. These Awards consist of Rs. 10,000 in cash, memento and a certificate.Dr. Syed TABASSUM SULTANA also was honoured with Award in recognition of her services in the field of education. The Awards were given to the awardees at a function held in Mumbai in the presence of minister Arif Naseem Khan, chief minister Prithvi Raj Chahan and others.   S.P.JAVED SIRAJ of CBI is the lone Muslim officer among the total of 92 personnel of different categories of police force like CBI, Delhi Police, ITBP (Indo Tibetan Boarder Police), CISF, BSF, CRPF, Home Guards, Civil Defence etc. who have been honoured with awards, medals, honours etc. on the occasion Independence Day 2012. He has been honoured with President’s Police Medal.