Community News


Dr. FAZLUR RAHMAN, a scientist and Principal of Faiz Aam Degree College of Meerut was honoured with ‘Distinguished Teacher’s Award’ on the occasion of Teachers Day on 5 September by the Vice Chancellor of Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National University and Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti Arabic-Persian University, Lucknow on behalf of UP government. Dr. Fazlur Rahman has already been honoured with five or six prestigious national awards earlier and his many research articles have been published in at least one important international journal of Germany and many national journals.   Ms. SAMINA ROOHI, a lecturer in Zooloy in Bijnor’s English medium Modern Era School was honoured with ‘Best Teacher Award’ by School Principal Ajay Bansal and Manager Anil Chaudhary in recognition of hard and sincere work in teaching her subject and developing mental faculties of children.   SANJAY GUPTA, Group Editor of Hindi daily Dainik Jagran, which also publishes Urdu daily Inqilab on a large scale was honoured with Dr. Kailash Nath Katju Award for his services in promoting Urdu. On the same occasion, Poet AZIZ NABEEL was honoured with Firaq Gorakhpuri Award for his services to Urdu poetry. The Award to Sanjay Gupta was honorary whereas the Award to Aziz Nabeel consisted of a cheque of Rs. 11,000, certificate and a memento.   Dr. AKHTAR AZAD, a research scholar in Chaudhary Charan Singh University’s Urdu department and a fiction writer of new generation was honoured with Urdu Heritage Caravan’s first Sa’adat Hasan Manto Award which consisted of Rs. 11,000, a certificate and a memento.   Prof. M. U. KHAN  of Jamia Millia Islamic who is the Programme Coordinator of Jamia’s NSS, and a model officer of ICTC was honoured with ‘Safeer-e Aman’ Award by Nepal’s Vice President Permanand Jha at International Leadership Programme held at Nepal’s capital Kathmandu on 10 September.   Five Muslims of Malegaon who are painstakingly trying to maintain and promote peace and communal harmony and are members of Malegaon Peace Committee were honoured with Awards by Ganesh Utsav Madhyawarty Committee. They are Dr. MANZOOR HASAN AIYYUBI, SHAKEEL DIAMOND, ABDUS SALAM NAZEER alias Abdullah Quraishi, IFTEKHAR PAHELWAN ISLAM GYMKHANA WALE and BASHIR NABI PAHELWAN. All those people were honoured by top police officers with Samman Patra in the presence of top officers of Madhyawarti Ganesh Utsav Samiti at a function held in the Police Control Room on 15 September.